This has been the issue that I’ve been trying to solve. I tried all the tutorials but nothing worked in my case. I decided to dig deeper because I will again, loath myself for not making this work. Since I am using XAMPP for my web development and Mysql Administrator for my .net development at work.. and it would be too much to access them on a separate PC or to manually stop and start the services . So this really has to work. Here we go:

First, I assume that you already changed the PORT on which MySQL will listen by default, it’s  3306. If not, you can refer to some tutorial on how to Change that port. They cannot listen to the same port so we need to change one. What I did with mine is changed xampp mysql to listen on port 3307. You can change that on the Config my.ini file. Others also change it on the php.ini file. It should look like this. You see that 3307 Port. 

xampp

Since the MySQL in  XAMPP is working, let’s leave it that way for now.

Next is to configure the MYSQL Administrator. If you already configured it the first time, we can still re configure it through Mysql Instance Config Wizard.

Reconfigure it then — this is what did the trick. Change the Service Name to anything other than MySQL.  For what I’ve noticed, everytime I uninstall the service of Mysql on Xampp, Mysql Administrator will not also work because they have the same SERVICE NAME!

mysql_1

Hence, it should look this way in Services list. Notice that both are already running. MySQL1 for MySQL admin and mysql for XAMPP.

service_running

Now, you can see them both running simultaneously and peacefully. 🙂  Hope this helps!

both

